Located on the corner of Gough and Union Streets, Octagon House was built in 1861 by William C. McElroy, a miller and early resident of San Francisco. This unique architectural style was popular in the mid 19th century. The octagonal shape was thought to contribute to healthful living by providing more interior light and air circulation in the home. At one time there were at least five other octagonal residences in San Francisco. Octagon House is owned and maintained by The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in California. It is open to the public as a house museum of early American and Federal furniture, paintings and decorative arts.
Visitors to Union Street are invited to tour the museum and garden.
Hours: 12:00 - 3:00 p.m. Open the 2nd and 4th Thursdays and 2nd Sunday of every month. Closed January and all legal holidays. Our Telephone # is: (415) 441-7512.
Location: 2645 Gough St. at Union St. URL: http://www.octagonhouseca.org